Frequently Asked Questions

How old do I have to be to purchase a firearm and/or ammunition?

You must be 18 years old to purchase long guns and ammo for long guns, and 21 years old to purchase handguns and ammunition for handguns. However you can attend firearm safety training at any age. To apply for your Concealed License you must be 21 or older.

Do you offer a Concealed Weapon Firearm License Class?

Yes. Mad Dog Armory provides required classroom and practical instruction to obtain your CWF license and much, much more. Our CWFL course is taught by NRA accredited instructors in a relaxed, clean and safe environment. Tuition starts at $49.00 Upon completion of any of our courses you will earn a certificate that allows you to provide to the State to apply for your License. The State of Florida is the only one who can issue the actual license and that is a separate fee paid directly to them for $112.00. Classes fill up quickly. Go to the class/event schedule to reserve your spot TODAY!

Where is your store located?

Mad Dog Armory is located at 11606 Seminole Blvd. Largo, Florida 33778. We are on the SW corner of Walsingham and Seminole Blvd in the Tropical Scooter & Motorcycle Plaza. South of Ulmerton and North of 102nd.

Coming from Tampa:

275(South) to Ulmerton (West) to Seminole Blvd (South) to location (West side of the road)

Coming from St Pete: 275 (North) to Bryan Dairy Rd (West) to Seminole Blvd (North) to location (West side of the road)

SUPPORT LOCAL SMALL BUSINESS!

I am not comfortable around firearms. Do you offer other Self Defense options?

Yes. We at Mad Dog Armory firmly believe in your 2nd Amendment right to own firearms….or NOT to own firearms. We get it, firearms aren’t for everyone. Whatever your preferred choice of self defense is, we are here to help. We have a large variety of items that we call ‘Non-Lethal’ options. These products include pepper sprays, tasers, stun guns, Brutus keychains, personal alarms and numerous other products. These items can affectively assist you should you, or your loved ones, safety come into question. Our promise to you is to never push you to purchase something you are not comfortable with. We will educate you on the various options we offer and always keep safety at the forefront. We offer a variety of specialty classes to our clients that include teaching you how to use your non-lethal weapon of choice. Please visit our class/event schedule to choose which class is right for you.

REMEMBER-Most often violence is unexpected wether your weapon of choice is lethal or non-lethal. Your safety is your responsibility, and you need to be prepared to defend yourself. Once you purchase your products…practice, practice and practice some more. Be aware of your surroundings. Whenever possible use the buddy system…yes, even as adults! Carry a flashlight when walking to or from your car in the dark. Whatever path you choose in your self defense, you can trust in Mad Dog Armory to put your needs first, always.

What are the rules for storing my firearm?

Mad Dog Armory suggests that you read and become familiar with the Florida Statue 784.05 Culpable negligence.

This Statute (below) clearly states that your firearm had better be stored properly because if it’s not and a minor gets their hands on it, chances are something terrible is going to happen, and you are going to prison. Never mind the guilt and horror associated with that unfortunate situation, we don’t want it ever to happen to one of our clients. It is YOUR responsibility to keep your firearms secure, safely stored and out of the reach of minors. YOU need to be educated and know your options to assure your firearms do not fall into the wrong hands due to negligence or even fire or theft.

MAD DOG ARMORY offers a plethora of choices when it comes to gun safes and locks. We can work within most budgets and will take your individual household needs into consideration.

Whether you have toddlers or teens in the house, storing your guns is of the utmost importance.

Biometric safes are a great option. They can handle up to 15 unique fingerprints to have lightning fast access. There are under the bed gun vault choices or mounts for your shotgun to sit securely on the inside wall of a closet, both have coded keypads allow easy access to the adults while keeping your minors safe and deny access. Browse our options and if you need help, deciding just ask!

Florida Statue 784.05 Culpable negligence
(1) Whoever, through culpable negligence, exposes another person to personal injury commits a misdemeanor of the second degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(2) Whoever, through culpable negligence, inflicts actual personal injury on another commits a misdemeanor of the first degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082 or s. 775.083.
(3) Whoever violates subsection (1) by storing or leaving a loaded firearm within the reach or easy access of a minor commits, if the minor obtains the firearm and uses it to inflict injury or death upon himself or herself or any other person, a felony of the third degree, punishable as provided in s. 775.082, s. 775.083, or s. 775.084. However, this subsection does not apply:
(a) If the firearm was stored or left in a securely locked box or container or in a location which a reasonable person would have believed to be secure, or was securely locked with a trigger lock;
(b) If the minor obtains the firearm as a result of an unlawful entry by any person;
(c) To injuries resulting from target or sport shooting accidents or hunting accidents; or
(d) To members of the Armed Forces, National Guard, or State Militia, or to police or other law enforcement officers, with respect to firearm possession by a minor which occurs during or incidental to the performance of their official duties.

Can I buy full auto firearms from Mad Dog Armory?

Yes. There are 2 ways you can obtain these items. We highly recommend you call a staff member at 727.417.9628 or 727.510.1146 or email us to assist you in choosing and purchasing your silencer(s) / suppressor(s).

    • 1) Mad Dog Armory will furnish you with TWO COPIES of ATF Form 4. These forms will need to be signed by a Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO). An example of a CLEO is your town Chief, County Sheriff or State Police officer. Once your CLEO signs off on your Form 4, you will be required to obtain TWO sets of fingerprints and TWO recent color passport photos for an FBI check.
    • 2) If no relevant CLEO will sign, you can form a corporation or Gun Trust with an attorney in your state. The corporation or gun trust can purchase the NFA firearm without the need for a CLEO to sign off on your Form 4.

Once one of these 2 steps are complete, bring the signed ATF Form 4’s, fingerprints and passport photos back to Mad Dog Armory, where you will fill out a “Certification of Compliance with 18 USC 922 (g)(5)(B)” and pay the $200 transfer tax. Mad Dog Armory will mail the completed package to the ATFE. This process can take a first time applicant anywhere from 30-60 days to get their first transfer approved. Upon approval, Mad Dog Armory will contact you to come pick up your chosen silencer(s) / suppressor(s). You’ll then fill out an ATFE Form 4473, just like you would any firearm, and be on your way!

Can I buy silencers / suppressors from Mad Dog Armory?

Yes. There are 2 ways you can obtain these items. We highly recommend you call a staff member at 727.417.9628 or 727.510.1146 or email us to assist you in choosing and purchasing your silencer(s) / suppressor(s).

    • 1) Mad Dog Armory will furnish you with TWO COPIES of ATF Form 4. These forms will need to be signed by a Chief Law Enforcement Officer (CLEO). An example of a CLEO is your town Chief, County Sheriff or State Police officer. Once your CLEO signs off on your Form 4, you will be required to obtain TWO sets of fingerprints and TWO recent color passport photos for an FBI check.
    • 2) If no relevant CLEO will sign, you can form a corporation or Gun Trust with an attorney in your state. The corporation or gun trust can purchase the NFA firearm without the need for a CLEO to sign off on your Form 4.

Once one of these 2 steps are complete, bring the signed ATF Form 4’s, fingerprints and passport photos back to Mad Dog Armory, where you will fill out a “Certification of Compliance with 18 USC 922 (g)(5)(B)” and pay the $200 transfer tax. Mad Dog Armory will mail the completed package to the ATFE. This process can take a first time applicant anywhere from 30-60 days to get their first transfer approved. Upon approval, Mad Dog Armory will contact you to come pick up your chosen silencer(s) / suppressor(s). You’ll then fill out an ATFE Form 4473, just like you would any firearm, and be on your way!

Once I place my order, when will I receive my merchandise?

Orders of in-stock merchandise with be available the same day for Concealed License holders. If you are not a license holder it is a 3 day wait. The day of purchase is not included in the 3 days and excludes holidays and weekends. If we are shipping inter-state, your in stock merchandise should be delivered 1-2 business days following order placement and if it is a firearm or restricted item it will ship to a licensed FFL dealer of your choosing.

As a courtesy, items needed fast can be expedited with same day service, or next day service, with additional shipping charges billed to the recipient.

ccw classes

Title

Are You Interested in Owning a Gun?

Learn About Our Florida Concealed Carry Class